Free online private repositories for source code control management

I have some pet projects but so shy to show off😉

I share with my close fellow only, that why I need an online free private source repository (stable, hosting, free, private, is it too much?). The small list below is carefully made on the time (updated in July 2011) I write this post (because the SCM service providers’ plans are subject to change)

 

Assembla

  • free plan has private repos with
  • Unlimited Users. Unlimited Projects
  • 1GB Storage
  • with Git and SVN

 

bitbucket

  • Free plan
  • has unlimited public repos
  • and unlimited 5 user private repos
  • with Git and Mercurial

 

Unfuddle

  • free plan has private repos
  • 200MB
  • 2 users, 1 active project
  • with Git and SVN

 

xp-dev

  • 200MB of basic Subversion & Trac space
  • 2 projects
  • No backups
  • No secure SSL access
  • Advertisements

 

 

Bonus: Client to access

I use eclipse as open source SCM client

Git: I use eGit

SVN: I use Subclipse

Mercurial: MercurialEclipse (formly HgEclipse)

 

More bonus: conversation on StackOverflow about this free private source repository

Leave a Reply

